Technical Notes 2021, Issue 96 - Introduction of new Booking System for Mavis Valley Household Waste and Recycling Centre (HWRC)

Report by: 
Thomas Glen, Depute Chief Executive - Place, Neighbourhood & Corporate Assets
TN Number: 
Elected Members – Introduction of new Booking System for Mavis Valley Household Waste and Recycling Centre (HWRC)
Responsible Officer: 
Paul Curran, Executive Officer - Neighbourhood Services
This Technical Note will be published on the Council’s website following circulation to Members. Its contents may be disclosed or shared outwith the Council.

Mavis Valley Household Waste and Recycling Centre (HWRC)Booking System

The purpose of this technical note is to provide Members with an update in relation to the development of the new booking solution at Mavis Valley HWRC.

System development has now been completed and the booking system for Mavis Valley HWRC is due to launch on Monday, 16 August.  This solution will:

  • Reduce traffic congestion and waiting times
  • Manage visitor numbers and maintain on-site social distancing.

From Monday, 16 August residents within East Dunbartonshire will be able to book a free appointment at the Mavis Valley site via a booking form accessed from the East Dunbartonshire Council website.  During the first 2 weeks (16 August to 29 August) residents will still be able to access the site without pre-booking. From Monday, 30 August, all visits must be pre-booked to allow entry to Mavis Valley HWRC.

The booking system will provide residents with a quick and easy way to book a suitable date and timeslot up to two weeks in advance and up to 15 minutes before attending the site at Mavis Valley.  Residents will also be able to reschedule or cancel the booking/s as required.  For residents who do not have access to a computer a telephone booking can be made by calling our Customer Service agents Monday to Friday 9am – 5pm on 0300 123 4510.

Information on the new system will be communicated via local press and the Council’s social media channels.

Distribution List: 
All Elected Members, Corporate Management Team, Executive Officers, HSCP Management Team, Corporate Communications